Melbourne Cricket Ground - Australian Cricket Hall of Fame inducts McGrath and Turner
  • MCC Logo
  • NSM Logo

Australian Cricket Hall of Fame inducts McGrath and Turner

Feb 03, 2013

Former Australian fast bowlers Glenn McGrath and Charlie Turner will be inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame (ACHoF) at the 2013 Allan Border Medal tomorrow night in Melbourne.

ACHoF chairman Mr David Crow today announced that McGrath and Turner were the selection committee’s unanimous choice for induction this year.

“Glenn McGrath and Charlie Turner were each the outstanding Australian fast bowler of their era,” said Mr Crow. “Despite careers more than a century apart, they had much in common.

“Tall, right-arm fast bowlers, both men hailed from country New South Wales. Their superb records demonstrate the dominance each had over opposition batsmen over a prolonged period.”

Glenn McGrath

Glenn McGrathThrust into Test cricket in 1993 with limited first-class experience with New South Wales, Glenn McGrath became the greatest Australian fast bowler of his generation.

In a 14-year Test career spanning 124 matches, McGrath’s 563 wickets at 21.64 is the highest tally by a fast bowler and fourth-highest of all-time, behind Shane Warne, Muttiah Muralitharan and Anil Kumble.

His unrelenting accuracy and immaculate length also posed problems for batsmen in limited overs internationals, with his 381 wickets the sixth-highest in history.

In the 2007 World Cup, McGrath’s swansong for Australia, he took a record 26 wickets and was named Man of the Tournament.

Winner of the Allan Border Medal (2000) and named Wisden Cricketer of the Year (1998), McGrath was inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame in December. View Glenn McGrath's career statistics

McGrath said he was delighted to be inducted into the ACHoF:

“I grew up in the country, watching and loving cricket from a young age, and the thought of playing for Australia was a dream,” McGrath said. “To achieve that, to be lucky enough to play for as long as I did and now to be inducted in the Hall of Fame, is a huge honour.

“To be featured alongside some of my heroes growing up – guys like Dennis Lillee, Rod Marsh and the Chappells – is pretty amazing, too.”

“I am proud to be inducted alongside Charlie Turner. I didn’t know a great deal about him, but when I found out that we were being inducted together, I did a bit of homework.

“Like me, he was a country boy, born in Bathurst not far from where I grew up. His statistics indicate he was a remarkable bowler, there’s no doubt about that.”

Charlie Turner

Charlie TurnerCharlie Turner was a formidable opponent, particularly on wet surfaces.

Possessing a rhythmic run and a square-on action at the point of delivery, Turner took 6/15 on Test debut at Sydney in 1887, helping dismiss England for 45, which remains the lowest total by England against Australia.

In 17 Test matches between 1887 and 1895 – all against England – Turner took 101 wickets at 16.53, the best average by an Australian bowler with more than 100 wickets.

Among Australians, Alan Davidson (186 wickets at 20.53) and Turner’s fellow inductee Glenn McGrath (563 wickets at 21.64) are his nearest rivals. Turner reached 50 Test wickets in a record six matches.

In 1887/88, Turner became the first bowler to take 100 wickets in an Australian first-class season, a record that stands today. He took almost 1000 wickets in a first-class career of almost 20 years.

Turner was described in his obituary in Wisden as “a bowler ranking with the best ever produced by Australia, and by many who played against him...”

In 2008, Turner was one of the inaugural 11 members of the New South Wales Cricket Hall of Fame, alongside Victor Trumper, Steve Waugh, Richie Benaud, Sir Donald Bradman, Alan Davidson, Ray Lindwall, Charlie Macartney, Arthur Morris, William Murdoch and Bob Simpson. View Charlie Turner's career statistics

About the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame
The Australian Cricket Hall of Fame was first proposed by the Melbourne Cricket Club (MCC) in 1995 and officially opened in 1996. 

It is now located inside the National Sports Museum at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

With the support of Cricket Australia and Cricket Victoria, 10 players were inducted at its official opening in 1996 and a further 27 have been welcomed since. View the full list of inductees

The selection panel comprises MCC Cricket chairman David Crow, former Test captains Bill Lawry, Mark Taylor and Richie Benaud, Australian Cricketers’ Association Chief Executive Paul Marsh, Cricket Australia Chief Executive James Sutherland and media representatives Malcolm Conn and Gideon Haigh.



MCG iPhone app

The MCG app is available on iPhone and Android. A great way to keep in touch with your favourite stadium!

FAHID Ben Khalfallah capped off a brilliant 2014-15 season by taking out the Victory Medal in a thrilling vote count at Crown’s Palladium on Friday night.

Herald Sun

A BLOOPER-of-the-year contender from James O’Connor on Friday night tripped the Reds when victory was there for the taking. Watch the howler.

Herald Sun

NICK Kyrgios has been handed a testing French Open draw as Bernard Tomic’s hopes of Roland Garros glory were also given a timely boost.

Herald Sun

VIDEO: Steph Curry scored big and Andrew Bogut rose from his sick bed to be a powerhouse in a thrilling Warriors Western Conference finals win.

Herald Sun

KEVIN Muscat has uttered the words Victory fans wanted to hear, telling Fox Sports News: I want to keep Archie Thompson.

Herald Sun